Astrology-Made Simple


Benefic and Malefic Planets

In this post, I’m not only going to talk about planet by planet list for each lagna, but spell out the rules in making this determination. Lordship of certain houses in the chart can make the planets deviate from their natural tendencies of doing good or bad. E.g. Jupiter, who is naturally the best beneficial planet, is not good for Kanya (Virgo) lagna. It is similarly neutral for Simha (Leo) lagna.

In the rules given below, the blemish acquired by a natural benefic by virtue of lordship of an angle 4th, 7th or 10th house. The lord of Lagna does not get affected by this dosha.

Benefics for a lagna can be determined as:
  1. First house lord, other than moon,
  2. 9th and 5th lords (in that order)
  3. 10th, 7th and 4th lords (in that order), when they are not natural benefics. This is Kendradhipati Dosha, which gets cancelled only when the aforesaid planet occupies its own sign.
  4. Natural malefics, when they become kendradhipatis.

The property of getting opposite traits to natural tendency is cancelled when the planet in question occupies its own house.

Malefics are determined as:
  1. Lords of 3rd, 6th and 11th houses, in the opposite order,
  2. Any benefics that might be tainted with Kendradhipati Dosha.

Neutrals are:
  1. Moon as lord of Lagna,
  2. Lords of 8th and 12th house; although the chapter mentions only Sun and Moon as having this property, but in principle it can be applied to each planet.

Based on the logic presented here, the list of benefics and malefic planet for each lagna can be summarized as:

Beneficial Planets
Planets with evil streak
Aries (Mesha)
Jupiter, Sun, Mars
Saturn, Mercury, Venus
Taurus (Vrishabha)
Saturn, Mercury, Mars, Sun
Jupiter, Moon and Venus
Gemini (Mithuna)
Mars, Jupiter, Sun
Cancer (Karka)
Jupiter, Mars
Venus, Mercury
Leo (Simha)
Mars and Sun
Mercury and Venus
Virgo (Kanya)
Moon, Mars, Jupiter
Libra (Tula)
Saturn, Mercury and Venus
Sun, Jupiter, Moon
Scorpio (Vrishchika)
Moon, Sun, Jupiter
Mercury, Venus
Sagittarius (Dhanu)
Mars, Sun
Venus, Saturn, Mercury
Capricorn (Makara)
Venus, Mercury, Saturn
Mars, Jupiter, Moon
Aquarius (Kumbha)
Venus, Mars, Sun
Jupiter, Moon
Pisces (Meena)
Moon, Mars
Saturn, Sun, Venus, Mercury


Post a Comment